研究中的细节

 

​人们可能会对口罩的过滤效率感兴趣。重要的是,我们应该认识到,探索口罩过滤效率的实验研究很少使用用于认证医用口罩或呼吸器(如N95)的标准方法来验证。不同的研究使用不同的方法、不同的颗粒大小和不同的颗粒计数方法。

 

这大多数研究中只是为了提供概念验证,而不是直接为用于在社区佩戴的口罩设计提供信息。

 

 

不同的方法

·有使用平布制作的口罩进行的实验。实际上,使用扁平材料制作口罩的检测方法,实际上采用的是标准认证医用口罩的方法。用于制作口罩的材料不需要额外的测试。

·有使用布制口罩的外部保护实验,也称为环境保护,或源头控制。这些研究通常纳入戴口罩的志愿者,但也有一些使用能在口罩内产生颗粒的人体模型或人体大小的半身像作为研究对象。这些方法比较口罩内部和外部的颗粒滤过率,或者比较有口罩和没有口罩对吸入颗粒的影响。

·有使用布制口罩进行内部保护,或保护佩戴者的实验。就像外部保护的研究一样,这些研究是通过志愿者或人体模型来完成的。

在上述所有类型的实验中,在不同的研究中,颗粒穿过布料的流速是不同的,因此,想对不同布料的(滤过率)进行头对头的比较则十分困难。

 

 

不同颗粒大小

引起新冠肺炎的病毒颗粒直径在0.065到0.140微米之间。1微米(µm)等于千分之一毫米。在呼吸道分泌物中,病毒存在于各组大小不一的颗粒中。对于咳嗽和打喷嚏,最常见的颗粒是1µm以上,部分资料显示也可能是10或100µm。每个实验装置都定义了用于测试的颗粒大小。

 

 

不同的颗粒计数方法

在一些研究中,计数的是实际的颗粒数量。在其他研究中,则使用生物标记物(通常是细菌,有时是病毒)来计数颗粒滤过率,计数的是滤过的细菌数量或病毒数量。

 

这意味着,在没有提供更多关于这项研究的信息的情况下,很难说出布料的过滤效率。我们听到人们谈论的百分比可能不是以相同的方式衡量的,所以一个研究中的滤过率统计数据可能无法与另一个进行比较。

 

​这里是我们发现的一些亮点,给出了它们是如何被测试的细节。在我们的文章中,无论布料是否具有良好的过滤性能,我们都记录了所有的结果。我们认为,对人们选择和制作口罩最有用的是,提供能提供有效滤过的相关布料的实验细节。

 

 

 

用大小未明的气溶胶检测T恤平布材料,发现一层布料的细菌标志物过滤效率为69%,两层为71%,而一层布料的病毒标志物过滤效率仅有51%。(Davies 2013)

 

用大小未明的气溶胶检测亚麻平布茶巾(一种平纹布),对于细菌标志物而言,一层布料的过滤效率为83%,2层为97%;而对于病毒标志物而言,一层布料的过滤效率为72%。(Davies 2013)

 

 

​将重量未明的每英寸600根棉线的棉布置于流速不明、直径大小为0.075-0.100 µm的生理盐水制作的颗粒中测试,发现一层布料过滤效率为76%,两层为85%。(Konda 2020)

 

 

将混合布料制作而成的口罩(即一层为重量未明的每英寸600根棉线的棉布,第二层为每英寸90根线且含65%法兰绒布、35%涤纶绒布)置于流速不明、直径大小为0.075-0.100µm的生理盐水制作的颗粒中进行测试,发现这种两层布料口罩的过滤效率达到95%。(Konda 2020)

 

外在保护,或源头控制

 

将两层的T恤布制作成的口罩缝边,可以有效防止口罩的拉伸和裂开,通过计算口腔细菌的传播量来测试其过滤效率,并以志愿者咳嗽出来的颗粒大小进行分类,发现这种口罩总体过滤效率为71%,而对于直径大小为0.65-1.1µm颗粒的过滤效率为71%。在这项实验中,用同样的方法测试医用口罩,发现其总体过滤效率为85%,而对于直径大小在0.65-1.1 µm之间的颗粒过滤效率为86%。这些数据之间没有显著差距,表明这种布口罩和测试中所使用的医用口罩的过滤效率相似。(Davies 2013)

 

 

​对于外层为平纹细布(一种未经加工的平纹棉布)、内层为法兰绒布的口罩, 通过计算口腔细菌的传播量来测试其过滤效率,发现其可减少>99%表面污染,减少>99%的经空气传播的细菌,并且可过滤掉88%-99%直径<4 µm经空气传播的细菌颗粒(有时也被称为气溶胶细菌颗粒)。(Greene and Vesley 1962)

 

 

​用平纹细布制成4层式的鸭嘴型口罩,通过计算口腔细菌的传播量来测试其过滤效率,该口罩总体上可减少99%经空气传播的细菌菌,而对于直径小于3.3µm的细菌可减少其89%的传播。这与70年代一次性商用口罩的测试结果是一致的,同样显示总体经空气传播细菌传播减少96-99%,而直径<3.3µm的颗粒减少率为72-89%。

 

用直径大小为0.02-1µm的生理盐水颗粒,测试这种两层的T恤布缝边口罩(可防拉伸和撕裂),发现其内在过滤效率为50%,较医用口罩80%-86%的过滤效率低。(Davies 2013)

 

一层茶巾制作而成的口罩对生理盐水制作成的颗粒(直径大小为0.02-1 µm)的内在过滤效率为55%-77%。(Van der Sande 2008)

 

 

兔子佩戴3或6层紧密贴合的每英寸84根棉线的棉口罩后,再暴露于含结核杆菌的空气颗粒(即大小未明的一种气溶胶)中,其发生结核病灶较不戴口罩兔子少,减少率高达95%,研究结果有统计学差异。(Lurie & Abramson 1949)

Details of the studies reviewed

People may be interested in the percentages of filtration. It is important to realise that few of the experiments used the standard methodologies that are used to certify medical masks or respirators (N95s).  Different studies use different methods, different particle sizes, and different ways of counting particles.

Many of these studies were done to provide proof-of-concept rather than to directly inform the design of a mask for wear in the community. 

Different methods

  • There are experiments on flat cloth. Tests using flat material are, actually, the methods used to certify medical masks according to standards.  No additional tests required for the material made into masks.

  • There are experiments, using cloth masks, on outward protection, also called protection of the environment, or source control.  These usually involve volunteers wearing the mask, but some involve a manikin or human-sized bust which generates particles inside the mask.  These methods compare particles inside and outside the mask, or with the mask and without the mask.

  • There are experiments, using cloth masks, on inward protection, or protection of the wearer. Like studies of outward protection, these are done with volunteers or with a manikin.

In all of these types of experiments, the flow rate across the cloth differs from study to study making head-to-head comparisons difficult.

Different particle sizes

The virus that causes COVID-19 is between 0.065 and 0.140 µm in diameter. A micrometre (µm) is one thousandth of a millimetre. In respiratory secretions, the virus is found in particles, which have a range of sizes.  For coughing and sneezing, the most common particle is above 1 µm and some sources suggest may be 10 or 100 µm.  Each experimental set up defines the particle size used for testing.

Different ways of counting particles

In some studies, the actual number of particles is counted.  In other studies, there is a biological marker in the particles (usually a bacterium, sometimes a virus), and what is counted is the number of bacteria or viruses that are transmitted.

All this means that it is difficult to say what percentage cloth filters without giving more information about the study.  And the percentages that we hear people talking about may not be measured in the same way, so that one statistic may not be comparable with another.

Here are some highlights that we found, giving the details of how they were tested. 

In our article, we have noted all the results, whether the cloth provided good filtration or not.  We think what is most useful to people choosing and making masks is to pull out the details of the experiments where cloth provided useful filtration

Flat cloth

For flat T shirt material tested with an aerosol of unknown size, there was 69% filtration of a bacterial marker with one layer, 71% filtration of a bacterial marker with two layers, and 51% filtration of a virus marker with one layer.  (Davies 2013)

For flat linen tea towel (a plain woven cloth), tested with an aerosol of unknown size, there was 83% filtration of a bacterial marker with one layer, 97% filtration of a bacterial marker with two layers, and 72% filtration of a virus marker with one layer. (Davies 2013)

For cotton 600 threads per inch, weight unknown, tested at an unknown flow rate with a particle size of 0.075 to 0.100 µm, there was 76% filtration of a saline particle with one layer, and 85% filtration of a saline particle with two layers. (Konda 2020)

For a hybrid, one layer of cotton 600 threads per inch, weight unknown, and a second layer of 65% flannel, 35% polyester flannel, 90 threads per inch, measured at an unknown flow rate with a particle size of 0.075 to 0.100 µm, 95% filtration of a saline particle with the two layers together. (Konda 2020)

Outward protection, or source control

For a 2-layer T-shirt mask with a sewn edge (prevents stretching and the material opening up), measured with counting transmission of mouth bacteria, categorized by particle size, from volunteers coughing, filtration of 79% overall, and filtration of 71% for particles in the size range 0.65 – 1.1 µm.  In this experiment, a medical mask was tested in the same way and the filtration was 85% overall and 86% for particles in the size range 0.65 – 1.1 µm.  There was no statistically-significant difference between these numbers, suggesting that this cloth mask may be performing similarly to the medical mask tested. (Davies 2013)

A mask made of outer layers of muslin, a plain-woven unfinished cotton cloth, with an inner layer of flannel, measured with counting transmission of mouth bacteria, reduced contamination of surfaces by > 99%, total airborne bacteria by > 99%, and airborne bacteria in particles less than 4 µm (i.e., in the range sometimes called ‘aerosols’) by 88-99%. (Greene and Vesley 1962)

A duckbill-shaped mask made of 4 layers of muslin, measured with counting transmission of mouth bacteria, reduced airborne bacteria overall by 99%, and bacteria in particles less than 3.3 µm by 89%.  This was comparable to the results for commercial disposable masks of the day (1970s) tested in the same way, which showed overall reductions of 96-99%, and for particles less than 3.3 µm, 72-89%. (Quesnel 1975)

Inward protection

A two-layer T-shirt mask with a sewn edge (prevents stretching and the material opening up), measured with saline particles of 0.02 – 1 µm, provided inward filtration efficiency of 50% during a range of activities.  This was lower than observed with a medical mask, which produced filtration of 80-86% when studied in the same way. (Davies 2013)

A one-layer tea towel mask, measured with saline particles of 0.02 – 1 µm, provided inward filtration efficiency of 55 - 77% during a range of activities. (Van der Sande 2008)

Animal experiments

Rabbits wearing 3 or 6 layers of tightly fitting cotton masks, 84 threads per inch, exposed to air particles containing tubercle bacteria (size not given but described as ‘aerosol’), developed fewer tuberculosis lesions than those who did not wear masks. The reduction in tuberculosis lesions was 95%.  This result was statistically significant. (Lurie & Abramson 1949)