如何制作布口罩

有关材料的选择和层数,请参见“指南”部分。

这些说明是为经验不足但有基本手工缝纫技能的人设计的。

 

 

如果您是经验丰富的缝纫者,则可能需要跳过或合并一些步骤。此方法用于手缝。如果您经验丰富,并且可以在机器上进行制作,建议您在8.5英寸处切割外层织物,而不要进行侧缝。制作褶皱后,您将需要胶带或一小块材料来完成左右口罩边缘缝合。如果您经验不足,并且在机器上进行制作布口罩,则可能需要手工制作褶皱(第5步),请不要在多层布料中把针折断

1.剪裁两块紧密编织的织物,外层16英寸x 9英寸(40 x 22厘米),内层13英寸x 6.5英寸(32 x 16厘米)。例如,外层可以是棉布,内层是法兰绒。

2.沿较大的外侧部分的短边(左右)缝制1/4英寸下摆。

沿外部较大部分的底部和顶部长边缝制1/4英寸下摆。

3.将较小的一块(b)居中放置在较大的一块(a)上。

管道清洁器(雪尼尔杆)扎带,电线或纸制紧固件(金属带)用于制作鼻梁的可塑型材。如图所示,将金属条放在布的中间。

4.将两块布居中对折,放在管道清洁器上,管道清洁器上应在对折的右侧。

缝水平缝线以将金属带固定到位。

在金属条的两端缝一针以将其固定到位。

沿织物的顶部和底部缝制1/2英寸的接缝。不缝合底部的边缘,以便以后更换扎带或管道清洁器。

5.在布料的外侧,面朝下制作3个半英寸的褶。缝制到位。这些针脚穿过12层材料,并且需要在每个针脚处进行一次垂直针定位(即,将针从材料的背面垂直地向前穿入,然后作为一个单独的针脚从正面穿针到后面)。

6.在口罩外部的每个角落缝制钮扣。金属条在顶部,面罩外侧的折痕朝下。

 

将松紧带缠绕在一起,使绑带固定在按钮上,并在顶部和底部左右移动。使用任何您认为合适的数量,以保持舒适状态。底部绑带位于脖子后面,在头骨的底部。顶部绑带位于头部的后部的上半部。顶部绑带应比底部绑带更长。

如果愿意,可以制作耳挂(使用松紧带上的较短绑带)。

How to make a cloth mask

These instructions are designed for inexperienced people who have basic hand sewing skills.

 

If you are an experienced sewer, there will be some steps you might skip or combine.  This method is for handsewing. If you are experienced, and making this on a machine, we suggest cutting the outer fabric at 8.5", and not making the side seams.  You will need tape or a small piece of material to finish the right and left mask edges after making the pleats.  If you are less experienced, and making this on a machine, you may need to make the pleats (step 5) by hand, don't break your needle on the multiple layers!

1. Cut 2 tightly woven pieces of fabric, the outer 16" by 9" (40 by 22 cm), the inner 13" by 6.5" (32 by 16 cm). For example, the outer could be cotton muslin, the inner non-woven industry-grade spunbond polypropylene.  A spreadsheet showing sources of this material can be downloaded here.

.

2. Sew 1/4" hem along short edges (right and left) of the outer, larger piece.
Sew 1/4" hem along bottom and top long edges of the outer, larger piece.

3. Lay the smaller piece (b) over the larger piece (a), centred.

Purpose-made flat bendable nose wires are now available for purchase. Alternatives are plastic twist ties (use two), florist's wire or paper fasteners (metal strips) are used to make a moldable section for the bridge of the nose. Coffee clips are double twist ties, they tend to be longer and stronger and work very well. Pipe cleaners (chenille stems) can be used but tend to crumple when machine washed. Place the metal strip in the middle of the cloth as shown.

4. Fold both pieces of cloth together in half, over the nose wire, which should be lying flat on the material with its top edge right in the fold.

Sew a horizontal seam to hold the metal strip in place.  

Sew a stitch at each end of the metal strip to hold it in place.

Sew 1/2" seam along top and bottom of fabric.  Leave the edge at the bottom hemmed (done in step 2) but unseamed (not closed) at the moment.

5. Make 3 half-inch pleats, facing downward on the outside, in the fabric.  Sew in place.  These stitches pass through 12 layers of material and a vertical needle position with a single pass at each stitch will be needed (ie, pass the needle vertically from the back of the material to the front, and then as a separate stitch, from the front to the back)

6. Sew the bottom of the middle layers (ideally polypropylene) in place by topstitching across the bottom of the mask. The mask will no longer lie flat, it will take on a curved shape.

A dart in the bottom of the mask may improve fit under the chin (see photo).

7. Sew buttons on each corner, on the outside of the mask.  With the metal strip at the top, the folds on the outside of the mask are directed down.

Loop together elastic bands to make straps that attach on the buttons, and go from side to side at the top, and at the bottom.  Use as many as you need for a comfortable fit.  The bottom strap sits behind the neck, at the base of the skull.  The top strap sits at the back of the head, about half way up.  The top strap will be longer than the bottom strap.

You can make earloops (using shorter straps from elastic bands) if you prefer.

You can, of course, sew in elastic for earloops or for over-the-head elastic as an alternative to our ‘easy-sew’ idea of buttons and elastic bands. For earloops, premade products that include a small bead or plastic to make them adjustable are now available. Round elastic or quarter-inch elastic also works well. For over-the-head elastic round or quarter-inch (or wider if you prefer or it is what you have on hand) can be used.  Caution: no removable parts for masks for small children.